April 28, 2007

Beatles - Help

Beatles - Help!

The Beatles' second move Help! was filmed between February 23 and May 11, 1965 and released in London July 29. Originally titled Eight Arms To Hold You, the action/adventure spoof centers around Ringo who gets a sacrificial ring (owned by an odd sect named the Kahili) stuck on his finger. The Beatles are chased around the world by the Kahili who want to kill Ringo while Foot and Algernon, a pair of mad scientists, try to steal the ring for themselves.

Unlike A Hard Day's Night, Help! was filmed in color. George commented, "In color ... Yeah, wow, see? They had more money for that one!"

The Beatles' second movie-related album, Help!, was recorded in two batches. The songs that appeared in the film were done in February, immediately before the film was shot, while the remaining tracks were laid down in mid-June. The album, including McCartney's best-loved composition, "Yesterday," incorporates elements of the prevailing folk-rock style, with the Lennon tracks in particular revealing the impact of Bob Dylan. It was released on August 6, 1965, entering the U.K. chart at No. 1 a week later.

John Lennon: Help! was where we turned on to pot and dropped drink, simple as that.

The Parlophone version of Help! included all the songs from the film on side one and new, unreleased Beatle songs on side two.

Photographer Robert Freeman wrote, "For the design of the album cover I had the Beatles signaling in semaphore the word HELP." Well ... not exactly. George signals an "N" or maybe and "R", John a "U", Paul a "J", and Ringo a "D" or "V". It's been suggested some of the images are reversed and out of order. If so, Paul signals an "H" and Ringo an "L". Closer to HELP but George's "N" or "R" and John's "U" remained unchanged.


Side 1
1. Help!
2. The Night Before
3. You've Got To Hide Your Love Away
4. I Need You
5. Another Girl
6. You're Going To Lose That Girl
7. Ticket To Ride

Side 2
1. [Act Naturally]
2. It's Only Love
3. You Like Me Too Much
4. Tell Me What You See
5. I've Just Seen a Face
6. Yesterday
7. [Dizzy Miss Lizzy]