September 24, 2012

Beatles Release ‘Tomorrow Never Knows’ Digital Compilation

The Beatles
John Pratt, Getty Images

Back in 1976, when Capitol was looking for new ways to re-package the Beatles catalog to their millions of fans, the label released the two-volume ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll Music.’ The LPs consisted of the some of the most raucous cuts from their incredible catalog and put hits like ‘Twist and Shout’ with lesser known songs like ‘I’m Down.’
Today (July 24) Apple has revisited that idea with the release of ‘Tomorrow Never Knows,’ a 14-song compilation released exclusively on iTunes. The mix focuses on the harder side of the group, and gives greater exposure to obscurities such as ‘Hey Bulldog’ and ‘You Can’t Do That.’
Unlike the Capitol compilation, the set only contains songs written by the Beatles. As a result, you don’t get their killer covers of early R&B classics, like ‘Dizzy Miss Lizzy’ and ‘Long Tall Sally,’ but two of George Harrison‘s songs, ‘Savoy Truffle’ and ‘It’s All Too Much’ are included.
The set also comes with a special note from Dave Grohl of Foo Fighters about the importance of the Beatles in both his and his daughters’ musical education. The note reads:
If it weren’t for The Beatles, I would not be a musician. It’s as simple as that. From a very young age I became fascinated with their songs, and over the years have drowned myself in the depth of their catalogue. Their groove and their swagger. Their grace and their beauty. Their dark and their light. The Beatles seemed to be capable of anything. They knew no boundaries, and in that freedom they seemed to define what we now know today as ‘Rock and Roll.’
Recently I showed my 6-year-old daughter, Violet, the brilliant Yellow Submarine movie. It was her introduction to The Beatles, and she instantly shared the same fascination I felt when I was her age discovering The Beatles for the first time. She wanted to know their names, which instruments they played, who sang what song, etc etc etc….it made me so incredibly happy (and proud!). Within days she knew the verses and choruses to every song on the album. But, there was one song that stood out for her….
‘Hey Bulldog’ is not one of The Beatles’ greatest hits. It’s what most people would consider a ‘deep cut.’ But it is a quintessential Beatles rocker. The rolling bass line, the trademark Ringo drum fills, the gritty distorted guitar, and that sound that only the back of Lennon‘s throat could produce. It stomps. It grooves. It makes your head bob. It makes your hips shake. When Lennon sings, ‘If you’re lonely you can talk to me!’ it soothes your heart, like you’ve finally found something to believe in. It’s so raw and real. It is 100% timeless Rock and Roll…
From one generation to the next, The Beatles will remain the most important rock band of all time.
Just ask Violet.
‘Tomorrow Never Knows’ is available for $7.99, with each of the 14 songs selling individually for $1.29.

Track listing

All songs written by Lennon–McCartney, except where noted.
  1. "Revolution" – 3:25
  2. "Paperback Writer" – 2:19
  3. "And Your Bird Can Sing" – 1:59
  4. "Helter Skelter" – 4:31
  5. "Savoy Truffle" (George Harrison) – 2:54
  6. "I'm Down" – 2:32
  7. "I've Got a Feeling" (Let It Be... Naked version) – 3:38
  8. "Back in the U.S.S.R." – 2:44
  9. "You Can't Do That" – 2:35
  10. "It's All Too Much" (Harrison) – 6:26
  11. "She Said She Said" – 2:36
  12. "Hey Bulldog" – 3:11
  13. "Tomorrow Never Knows" – 2:59
  14. "The End" (Anthology 3 version) – 2:52  


Remastered Beatles Albums Collected for 16-LP Vinyl Box Set Released

Beatles Box
If you passed on the CD remasters of the Beatles catalog a few years ago and have been holding out for the true audiophile experience, good news: The band’s catalog is back on vinyl.
Now here’s the bad news: The vinyl reissues have been collected in a 16-LP box set, due Nov. 13, that will set you back a whopping $399.99 — and that’s on sale from the list price of $449.99.

Of course, for hardcore Beatles fans, it’ll be an investment worth making; the set contains all 12 studio albums, plus ‘Magical Mystery Tour’ and the ‘Past Masters’ releases, presented on 180 gram vinyl in what the label description promises is “authentic, jaw-dropping sound guaranteed to rival the original LPs.”

“For this project, there was no such thing as too many cooks in the kitchen,” continues the description, outlining the rigorous steps taken to enhance the albums’ fidelity while preserving the integrity of the original tracks. “Yes, it took a village to get it right.”
It might take a village to pay for this thing, too — but hey, even if you have to eat peanut butter sandwiches for a few weeks, at least you’ll be able to listen to newly remastered Beatles records on your turntable, right?